Cakes/Cupcakes

Strawberry Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes

 

Strawberry Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes - Vegan + Gluten Free

It’s Strawberry season!!!!

When I was a little girl, about 4 years old, I developed an infatuation with Strawberries. It may have been the adorable Moranguinha aka Strawberry Shortcake backpack my godmother gave to me when I started preschool in Santos, Brasil. I wore that backpack until I was way too old to. I grew up loving Strawberry Shortcake, the character but I wasn’t too fond of actually eating Strawberries when I was a kid. I always thought Strawberries were cute as heck to look at but they were far too sour for my tastebuds until I reached my mid twenties. Now I’m CRAZY about Strawberries, and it’s just an added bonus that they’re so darn good for you. It seems that every Strawberry season that goes by I grow more and more in love with them! Now that it’s Strawberry season once again, I’m inspired to make all sorts of Strawberry goodies.

Today, after a week of watching episodes of DC Cupcakes on Netflix with my fiancé (and aching to bake cupcakes all week), I finally got the energy to get to work and bake cupcakes! I wanted Strawberry flavor, of course, but also had a craving for Lemon Poppy Seed cupcakes, so I combined them. To make the cupcakes more Strawberry-y, I made a yummy Strawberry Buttercream frosting which tastes a little like a Strawberry Milkshake – something I haven’t enjoyed since becoming vegan. Mmmm the combo of the Strawberry icing with the Strawberry Lemon Poppy Seed cupcakes is great, and since I just threw it all together, I was really excited it actually came out so well!


Strawberry Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes

Vegan, Gluten-Free, Nut-Free, Sugar-Free optional

Adapted from Feed Me I’m Cranky

Ingredients:

1/2 cup-1 cup fresh strawberries, chopped
3 cups gluten free all purpose flour 
2 cups granulated sugar or sugar substitute
2 tsp gluten free baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups purified/distilled water
3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp lemon zest, optional
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup poppy seeds

**Note: To convert this recipe into a cake recipe, grease a 9×13 baking pan with oil & flour or non-stick spray. Pour batter into pan and bake for 40 minutes at 350°.

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Fill a cupcake pan with 24-30 paper baking cups. In a large bowl, mix together all of your dry ingredients, then add in your wet ingredients. Mix batter until blended well, then fold in chopped strawberries and poppy seeds. Once mixture is evenly blended (batter will be pretty liquid-y, this is good) pour into your muffin cups until 2/3 of each cup is full. Bake for 24-26 mins. Check the center of a cupcake with a toothpick to make sure it comes out clean and dry, if it does than they’re ready! Allow your cupcakes to cool for about 30 mins (this is the tough part), and then top with Strawberry Buttercream Frosting or lemon buttercream frosting. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

